Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:46 pm

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Naive & Preliminary review:Galco SS2 shoulder holster sy 
 Post subject: Naive & Preliminary review:Galco SS2 shoulder holster sy
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:38 pm 
Forum Moderator

I finally broke down and ordered a shoulder holster, a Galco SS2 system for my Glock 29. I call this a prelimary review, since I've only had it a few days, and naive because my past carry experience has been with a belt holster and I've never used a shoulder holster before.

This is the whole system, straps, holster and dual mag carrier. I also got the ammo side tie-down and the tie-down for no mag carriers, as well as the holster side tie-down.

The leather work appears to be top notch. The holster is well-molded and the straps are an extremely soft leather. The SS2 has the wide straps at the shoulder.

The holster is quite stiff, and I have to wonder if it will ever get soft enough to require the screw-type adjustable retention given the presence of the snap thumb break. It will take quite a bit more "working" as recommended in the manual for draw to be smooth. The mag carriers are even stiffer; they seem to be more generic double-stack carriers and look like they will accomodate taller magazines, like those for the larger G20. I actually removed the retention adjustment spacer and screws in order to flex the leather.

A lot of adjustment is necessary and even after a lot of adjusting I'm not sure I have it "perfect" fit yet. Adjustment is accomplished by moving a set of screws and little sockets that fit pre-punched holes in the shoulder straps.