Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:10 am

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
 Open carry in Wisconsin?? 
 Post subject: Open carry in Wisconsin??
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:15 pm 

After looking at some legislation I had questions and went looking for answers at the St. Croix county sheriffs office, through the chief deputy. Below is my email to him, and his response.

Deputy Shilts,

I am a Minnesota resident who travels to the St. Croix area often to visit friends and enjoy some of the great local areas. I happen to work as an armed security officer and find that my travels to Wisconsin are frequently immediately after work. Please note that I am also an NRA certified firearms instructor and a permit to carry instructor certified by the MN BCA. My question is as follows:

I am aware that WI does not allow the concealed carry of firearms by those other that law enforcement personnel [s. 941.23]. After reading some WI legislation though, it would appear to me as though open carry is not designated as illegal. Although WI law does not specifically prohibit the open carrying of loaded or unloaded firearms in public, I fear in doing so I may be putting myself at risk of another offense such as disorderly conduct on the grounds that the display may threaten public peace or safety. How am I to transport my sidearm with me during my travels to WI after work?? There are no safe facilities to unholster, unload, and case a firearm at my place of employment or on it’s premise. I work at an public restaurant and using the restroom or parking lot to disarm is both a very poor place to be handling a live firearm, in addition, if doing so in the parking lot I could potentially frighten nearby persons.